Las Vegas Personal Injury Lawyer » Blog » What is the Best State to Drive In? (Hint – it’s not Nevada)

What is the Best State to Drive In? (Hint – it’s not Nevada)

Since 2023 is in the books, it is time to reflect on the prior year, including the traffic data available, and discuss what can be done to improve traffic safety within Nevada. Earlier this month, WalletHub, a personal finance website, utilized the most recent traffic data as well as driver surveys to compile a list of the most-driver friendly states in the country. Unfortunately, Nevada ended up in the bottom ten, at forty-four overall. [1]

To determine the ranking of states, WalletHub examined thirty-one metrics including road conditions, congestion, accident and fatality rates, as well as economic conditions such as gas prices. Despite its low overall rank, Nevada fared well in some important areas such as Traffic infrastructure and Safety, ranking fourteenth in the nation for both. This is how Nevada faired in some of the other metrics:

  • Road Quality—18th
  • Rush Hour Traffic and Congestion–21st
  • Traffic Fatalities—25th
  • Auto Maintenance Costs—28th
  • Auto Repair Shops per Capita—39th
  • Car Thefts Rate—46th
  • Average Gas Prices—47th [2]

So what are the best states to drive in? Iowa, Georgia, and Kansas came in the top three while Delaware, Washington, and Hawaii were at the other end of the spectrum as the worst states to drive in.

Nevada Traffic Laws to Tighten Grip on Hit and Run Offenses, “Move Over” Law

Entering the New Year, Erin Breen, the Director of UNLV’s Road Equity Alliance Project, stated that the state hopes to tighten the penalty for hit and run offenses, as well as enforce the “Move Over” Law mores strictly. The hope is that this takes away the incentive to flee the scene or ignore emergency vehicles. This comes on the heels of the death of two state troopers in a hit-and run in Las Vegas in late 2023, as they were trying to assist a motorist on the side of the road. [3]

What is the “Move-Over Law”?

The move over law is Nevada Law 484B.607 which was initially passed in 2003, and requires drivers to shift their vehicle to the next lane in order to give emergency vehicles enough space to pass or to give enough space for events/people on the side of the road. Revisions to this law in 2017 include emergency vehicles, car accident scenes, utility and construction equipment, parked vehicles, debris on the roadway, and pedestrians as reasons to “move over.”

Violation of this law can result in a fine of $396, or $790 if it occurs in a work zone as well as docked license points. If the violation results in injury or death, there may be more serious consequences like jail time and a criminal record. [4]

Hit-and- Run Laws in Nevada

Under Nevada NRS 484E.010 the driver of a vehicle involved in a crash that results in bodily injury, death, or damage to a vehicle must immediately stop his or her vehicle at the scene of the crash or as close as possible and remain until they have fulfilled all requirements such as giving information, report to police officer present, and render aide. [5] Violating this can result in a Category B felony and can result in prison time with a minimum sentence of two years and a maximum sentence of twenty years. It can also have repercussion such as heavy fines (between two and five thousand), and license suspension.

If you are involved in a hit-and run accident and the driver does not stop, take the following actions: [6]

  • Seek Medical Aid: If you or a passenger is hurt, it is important to seek medical attention first and foremost
  • Move out of the flow of traffic: If your vehicle is drivable, and you are physically able, move out the flow of traffic, which can lessen further damage to the vehicle and prevent any additional accidents from occurring
  • Note any identifying information of the driver/vehicle that fled the scene: Car accidents can happen in the matter of seconds, and its impact can be shocking so it’s ok not to have in-depth descriptions or information on the perpetrator. However, try your best to note the make, model, vehicle type, color or any other standout features that can help police identify who fled the scene
  • Call the police (if you haven’t called 911 yet): It is important to call the police. They will file a report which is vital to both your insurance company, as well as prompts law enforcement to search for the at-fault driver.
  • Document Damage at the Scene: It is important to take photos of damages at the scene so that the insurance company has accurate records of the property damage that resulted from the accident. If you have any physical injuries, it is also important to keep your medical records.

If you have been hurt or lost a loved one in a hit and run accident in Nevada, you have up to two years to file a lawsuit against the at-fault party. This may seem complex if the identity of the other party is unknown which is why speaking with an experience personal injury attorney can be helpful. An attorney can help you understand what legal options are available after a hit and run.







Summerlin Location

11441 Allerton Park Dr #100
Las Vegas, NV 89135

Phone: 702-684-6900

Fax: 702-382-9798

Downtown Location

626 S 10th St
Las Vegas, NV 89101

Phone: 702-382-9797

Fax: 702-382-9798

Henderson Location

9230 S Eastern Ave #155
Las Vegas, NV 89123

Phone: 702-463-2900

Fax: 702-382-9798

Reno Location

1320 E Plumb Lane Ste A
Reno, NV 89502

Phone: 775-600-6000

Fax: 702-382-9798

Nevada Personal Injury Attorney

Joseph L. Benson II, and Ben J. Bingham, Personal Injury Attorneys

Free Consultation

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.